Stromme Microfinance East Africa Financial services for the poor

Talk to us

Head Office

Plot 25, Bukoto Street, Kamwokya,
P.O.Box 27200,
Kampala, Uganda
East Africa



Tel: +256 414 532 840
Fax: +256 414 532 834


We are committed to causing positive change in the lives of the enterprising poor.

Stromme Microfinance East Africa provides, on a sustainable basis, market responsive, financial services and capacity building support to financial and business service providers to enhance access to financial services by the enterprising poor in the Eastern Africa region.

A vision for a
World free of poverty


We believe in all people realizing their rights, respect and healthy self-esteem.


We strive for social rights of individuals and communities and access to resources and power.


We empathically identify ourselves with the plight of marginalised and discriminated groups.

“founded April 2004”

Strømme Micro Finance East Africa Limited (SMF EA Ltd) was incorporated as a company limited by shares in April 2004. SMF EA Ltd is owned by Stromme Microfinance AS in Norway, Stromme Foundation East Africa , Solidarite Internationale pour le Developpement et I’Investissement (SIDI) in France and Catholic Organization for Relief and Development Aid (CORDAID) in Netherlands.

The operations of SMF EA Ltd cover the countries of Uganda, Kenya, and Tanzania.

  • Stromme
  • Stromme Microfinance
  • SIDI
  • Cordaid

How we work

SMF EA Ltd’s mode of operations is through intermediaries i.e established Microfinance Institutions (both regulated and unregulated MFI’s),

Community Banks, Savings and Credit Cooperatives (SACCOs) that can ably deliver financial and non-financial services to the enterprising poor.

Corporate Governance

Mrs. Priscilla M. Serukka

Chairperson (Ugandan)

Mr. Bjorn Stian Hellgren

Director - Representative of SMF AS (Norwegian)

Mr. Edward Sekabanja

Director – Representative of SMF AS (Ugandan)

Mrs. Aasa Sildnes

Director – Representative of SMF AS (Norwegian)

Mrs. Clare Wavamunno

Director – Independent (Ugandan)

Mr. Quentin Lecuyer

Director – Representative of SIDI (French)

Ms. Claudia Huber

Director - Representative of Cordaid

Mrs. Rosemary Kantai

Director - Independent (Kenyan)

Mrs. Tina Sødal

Alternate Director (Norwegian)

Sara Tumwesigye

Chairperson - Audit Committee

Mrs. Nassozi Sarah Kiwanuka

Member - Audit Committee (Co-opted Board Committee Member)

Mr. Ernest Sozi Sessanga

Member - Audit Committee (Co-opted Board Committee Member)

Sascha Noe

Member - SPM Committee (Co-opted Board Committee Member)

Board of Directors

The institution has a broad-based board of directors. The board functions as a full board and through various committees constituted to oversee specific operational areas. The board is constituted of five committees comprising non-executive directors which meet on a quarterly basis.

These include the Executive Committee, Finance Sub Committee, the Audit Sub Committee, the extraordinary Sub Committee of Local Directors and Operations Committee.

Management & Staff

Harriet Mulyanti

Chief Executive Officer

Paul Katende

Operations Manager

Ann Rose Namatovu

Finance Manager

Christopher Luyima

Assistant Finance Manager

Cressy Musasiizi

Investment Officer

Andrew Sooka

Investment Officer

Joseph Odeke

Driver/Logistics Officer

Ceasor Mawanda

Investment Officer